Embassy Staff

Diplomatic Officers of the Embassy:

Name & Designation Telephone Fax E-mail
H.E. Prof. A. Saj U. Mendis


(84-24) 37341894-6 (84-24) 37341897 slemb.hanoi@mfa.gov.lk
Mr. Mahesh Prematilake

Minister Counsellor (Head of Chancery)

(84-24) 37341894-6 (84-24) 37341897 slemb.hanoi@mfa.gov.lk
Mrs. Kishani Wickramasinghe

Minister (Commercial)

(84-24) 37341894-6 (84-24) 37341897 comsecsl.vietnam@gmail.com

Honorary Consul in Ho Chi Minh City

Name and Designation Contact Details Office Hours
Mrs. Shirley Marguerite Hopman-Aluwihare

Honorary Consul

(+84) 28 353 532 92

Appointment in advance: (+84)933 296 202

Email: aluwihare.margo@gmail.com

Weekdays: 9 am – 4pm

Saturday: 9 am – 12pm


Embassy of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, Vietnam was established in 2003. 



A. Saj U. Mendis is a career Foreign Service Officer of Grade I of the Sri Lankan Foreign Service. His first assignment at the Foreign Office of Colombo was Assistant Director of Economic Affairs and then he was posted to Permanent Mission of Sri Lanka in Geneva. After Prof. Mendis returned to Sri Lanka, he was the Director of the Publicity (Public Communication) Division of the Foreign Office. Then he served for two years in the Ministry. Prof. Mendis was posted to High Commission of Sri Lanka in New Delhi. After the completion of his posting in New Delhi, Prof. Mendis was the Director of Economic Affairs at the Foreign Office. He was posted to the Mission of Sri Lanka in Singapore as the Deputy Chief of Mission (Deputy High Commissioner). On request by the Government, Prof. Mendis returned to Colombo and was seconded to the office of the Director General in charge of Investment and Tourism of the then Ministry of Economic Development. He was posted to Embassy of Sri Lanka in Tokyo as the Deputy Ambassador/Acting Ambassador and then to the Embassy of Sri Lanka in Bahrian as the Ambassador. Then, Prof. Mendis was also posted as the Ambassador of Sri Lanka to the Republic of Korea. Before assuming the Office of Ambassador of Sri Lanka to Viet Nam, Prof. Mendis was the Additional Secretary of Economic Affairs, Public Diplomacy and Ocean Affairs at the Foreign Office in Colombo.

Before joining the Foreign Service, Prof. Mendis was an Associate Vice President on Institution Investments at the premier Investment Bank, Lehman Brothers Inc. in New York and San Francisco for an extended length of time. Prof. Mendis is a Visiting Lecturer/ Faculty/ Professor/ Examiner of PhD and MBA/MA programs in over 35 universities of repute in many parts of the world. Prof. Mendis had most of his education in the US earning the first and post-graduate degrees and the Doctorate on International Economics from the prestigious Indian Institute of Technology, popularly known as IIT, in Delhi. He is also a Senior (Executive) Fellow at Harvard.

Former Ambassadors of Sri Lanka to Viet Nam

Name Period
1 H.E. Mr. M.M. Jaffeer 04/01/2003 – 30/06/2006
2 H.E. Mr. A.L. Rathnapala 25/07/2006 – 25/07/2009
3 H.E. Dr. K.G.I. Amarasinghe 10/10/2009 – 28/02/2015
4 H.E. Mrs. S.H.U Dissanayake 14/08/2015 – 28/02/2019
5 H.E. Mr. Prasanna Gamage 01/10/2019 – 30/12/2022

Links to

Contact Details:

Embassy of Sri Lanka in Vietnam,
55B Tran Phu, Dien Ban, Ba Dinh, Ha Noi

Tel.: (84-24) 373 418 94-6

Fax: (84-24) 37341897


Find Us on Facebook

Find us on Twitter

Register With Us

Last modified on 25/07/2023

Visa Notice

The Immigration and Emigration Department of Sri Lanka has shifted from its Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) visa program to the New eVisa scheme, with effect from April 17, 2024. The ETA website was disconnected on April 16, 2024.
Accordingly, all eligible nationalities planning to enter Sri Lanka via air or sea, for the purpose of tourism, business and transit, should visit the "Official Sri Lanka eVisa Website" through the weblink https://www.srilankaevisa.lk/ to apply for their online visa to Sri Lanka.
The Official Sri Lanka eVisa Website, https://www.srilankaevisa.lk/ is the only authorized website of the Department of Immigration and Emigration of Sri Lanka from April 17,2024, 00:00 hrs.